Colombia assumed the Presidency of PROSUR for 2017

Since January 1, 2017, Colombia became President Pro Tempore of PROSUR. This designation was made official during the Steering Committee meeting of such program that was held in Santiago de Chile, on December 15 - 16, 2016.

The Deputy Superintendent for Industrial Property Affairs, Mr. José Luis Londoño Fernández, represented Colombia on said meeting, during which the objectives and purposes for this New Year were analyzed and studied.

The Committee was divided into several sessions in which different topics were discussed, like the presentation of the 2016 PROSUR results, the future of the organization and Costa Rica's application as a new member of the Agreement. Also, there were held different meetings with the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), to assess the extension of cooperation agreements.

What is PROSUR?

It is a program that involves nine countries, and aims at facilitating and optimizing processes related to industrial property, knowledge transfer and entrepreneurship in the region. It has become an international reference in cooperation on IP matters. The current country members are Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, and Uruguay.

See the original in: